Quantcast
Home / Publisher's Notebook / A strike-out…after one pitch

A strike-out…after one pitch

You read the headline right. A baseball player struck out after only one pitch.

Well, he had a little help from the umpire…

Here’s what happened in a Double A game down in Texas.

The Midland RockHounds were playing the Corpus Christi Hooks.

As an aside, I love minor league baseball team names. The best match-up of names I ever personally witnessed was a Single A game in Asheville, N.C., in 2000, between the Asheville Tourists and the Savannah Sand Gnats. And just like in real life, the Gnats defeated the Tourists.

Back to Texas. Last Friday night, Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano faced Hounds third-baseman Vinnie Catricala. He threw a pitch, which the ump called a strike.

Catricala didn’t like it. He took his time settling back in, so much so that the ump called another strike. When the batter didn’t get right back in the box, Blue rang him up and called it a strike-out, even though it took just one pitch.

But as Big League Stew, a Yahoo! Sports blog, reported, according to Rule 6.02(c) the umpire was on reasonably solid ground in calling the additional strikes.

You might argue that 9.4 seconds – the amount of time that Catricala stalled before the ump tossed him was too short, but if you want to do that, take it to a bar to continue the discussion.

BLS has a video of the incident, with a hat tip to Deadspin, which first reported the story.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

 

Scroll To Top