Home / News in Brief / Horne to head judicial realignment committee

Horne to head judicial realignment committee

Chief Justice Cynthia D. Kinser has appointed Loudoun Circuit Judge Thomas D. Horne as chairman of the 22-member committee to study realignment of the state’s judicial circuits and districts.

The committee includes Virginia Court of Appeals Chief Judge Walter S. Felton Jr.; eight circuit judges; six general district or J&DR judges; a circuit, a J&DR and a general district clerk; a chief magistrate; and representatives from the Virginia State Bar, the Virginia Bar Association and the Virginia Trial Lawyers Association.

Kinser has asked those with thoughts on the matter to submit them to the Supreme Court’s top administrator, Karl R. Hade, by April 18. The court has set up an email address, jbrs@courts.state.va.us, when recommendations can be sent. (JBRS is an acronym for Boundary Realignment Study.

The committee has not set a meeting date, but Kinser has said she hopes to hold public hearings around the state before a report is drafted and sent to legislators by Nov. 1.

In alphabetical order, the committee members are:

The Honorable William N. Alexander II, Judge
Twenty-second Judicial Circuit

Ms. Yvette A. Ayala, Chief Magistrate
Sixteenth Judicial District

The Honorable Rufus A. Banks, Jr., Judge
First Judicial District

The Honorable Pamela S. Baskervill, Judge
Eleventh Judicial Circuit

The Honorable J. Martin Bass, Judge
Fifteenth Judicial Circuit

Mr. Irving M. Blank, President
Virginia State Bar

The Honorable R. Edwin Burnette, Jr., Judge
Twenty-fourth Judicial District

The Honorable Teresa M. Chafin, Judge
Twenty-ninth Judicial Circuit

Ms. Theresa A. Childress, Clerk
Twenty-third Judicial District

The Honorable E.E. Coleman, Jr., Clerk
Tenth Judicial Circuit

The Honorable Walter S. Felton, Jr., Chief Judge
Court of Appeals of Virginia

The Honorable Anita D. Filson, Judge
Twenty-fifth Judicial District

The Honorable Thomas D. Horne, Judge – Committee Chair
Twentieth Judicial Circuit

The Honorable Lisa Bondareff Kemler, Judge
Eighteenth Judicial Circuit

Ms. Ann B. Lloyd, Clerk
Twenty-sixth Judicial District

Mr. Matthew B. Murray, Immediate Past President
Virginia Trial Lawyers Association

Ms. Yvette M. Pennington, Clerk
Twenty-seventh Judicial District

The Honorable Robert A. Pustilnik, Judge
Thirteenth Judicial District

The Honorable Joseph S. Tate, Judge
Twenty-eighth Judicial District

The Honorable Wilford Taylor, Jr., Judge
Eighth Judicial Circuit

Ms. Lucia Anna Trigiani, President
The Virginia Bar Association

The Honorable Janice Justina Wellington, Judge
Thirty-first Judicial District

Leave a Reply