Home / News in Brief / Petersen, Deeds bounced from Senate Courts committee

Petersen, Deeds bounced from Senate Courts committee

The Republican takeover of the Virginia Senate led to the banishment of two veteran Democratic legislators from the Senate Courts of Justice committee.

Sens. Creigh Deeds, D-Bath County, and Chap Petersen, D-Fairfax, were both shown the door as Sens. Jill Vogel, R-Winchester, and Bill Stanley, R-Moneta, were ushered in.

Also named to the Senate Courts committee were freshmen Sens. Tom Garrett, R-Bumpass, and Bryce Reeves, R-Fredericksburg.

The changes leave the Senate Courts committee with eight Republicans and seven Democrats. The new chair is Sen. Tommy Norment, R-Williamsburg.

“Obviously I would have liked to stay on the Courts of Justice committee, where my experience and legal analysis could be best utilized,” Petersen said. He noted he had been the only lawyer from Northern Virginia on the courts panel.

Reeves, a non-lawyer, is involved in insurance and real estate businesses.

Changes on the House side saw Dels. Chris Peace, R-Mechanicsville, and Patrick Hope, D-Arlington, departing from the Courts committee, with freshmen Dels. Peter Farrell, R-Henrico County, Randy Minchew, R-Leesburg, and Rick Morris, R-Carrollton, coming aboard.

By Peter Vieth

Leave a Reply