Home / News in Brief / Incumbent judges reelected today

Incumbent judges reelected today

The Virginia General Assembly reelected incumbent judges today, but did not elect two former legislators to the bench. Former Front Royal delegate Clay Athey, a Republican, was up for a seat on the 26th Judicial Circuit in Harrisonburg and former delegate Bud Phillips of Castlewood, a Democrat, was nominated for the 30th General District Court bench in Wise.

Supreme Court Justice Donald W. Lemons was reelected to another 12-year term on the high court.

Judges reelected to the circuit court bench are: Judge W. Allan Sharrett, 6th Circuit; Judge Michael S. Irvine, 25th Circuit; Judge Malfourd W. Trumbo, 25th Circuit; and Judge Lon E. Farris, 31st Circuit. Norfolk Circuit Judge Norman A. Thomas, who ran into trouble during House and Senate committee interviews, was not on today’s list.

Incumbents returned to the general district court bench are: Judge Gordon S. Vincent (2-A); Judge Roxie O. Holder (3); Judge S. Clark Daugherty (4); Judge Richard C. Kerns (7); Judge Philip V. Daffron (12); Judge Thomas L. Vaughn (12); Judge L. Neil Steverson (14); Judge John R. Stevens (15); Judge Stewart P. Davis (19); Judge Lisa A. Mayne (19); Judge Donald P. McDonough (19); Judge Mark C. Simmons (19); Judge J. Frank Buttery Jr. (20); Judge George A. Jones Jr. (22); Judge Vincent A. Lilley (23); Judge Joseph M. Serkes (24); Judge Louis K. Campbell (25); Judge W. Dale Houff (26); Judge J. D. Bolt (27); Judge R. Glennwood Lookabill (27); and Judge Sage B. Johnson (28).

Judges reelected to the juvenile and domestic relations courts are: Judge Deborah M. Paxson (2); Judge Winship C. Tower (2); Judge Joel P. Crowe (3);Judge William P. Williams (4); Judge Robert S. Brewbaker Jr. (5); Judge Barry G. Logsdon (7); Judge Valentine W. Southall Jr. (11); Judge Ashley K. Tunner (13); Judge Margaret W. Deglau (14); Judge Denis F. Soden (14); Judge Richard S. Wallerstein Jr. (14); Judge Edward DeJ. Berry (16); Judge Frank W. Somerville (16); Judge Gayl Branum Carr (19); Judge Glenn L. Clayton II (19); Judge Thomas P. Mann (19); Judge Sarah A. Rice (22); Judge Joseph P. Bounds (23); Judge John B. Ferguson (23); Judge Charles L. Rickets III (25); Judge Ronald Lewis Napier (26); and Judge H. Lee Chitwood (27).

Virginia Beach JDR Judge Ramona Taylor, who was censured in 2009, was not considered for reelection.

The legislature also reelected Fauquier prosecutor James P. Fisher to the Judicial Inquiry & Review Commission, and Judge Judith Williams Jagdmann to the State Corporation Commission.

–Deborah Elkins

Leave a Reply