Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

‘Leaders in the Law’ for 2013 named

Virginia Lawyers Weekly//August 21, 2013

‘Leaders in the Law’ for 2013 named

Virginia Lawyers Weekly//August 21, 2013//

Listen to this article

Va-Leaders-in-the-Law-WEB1Virginia Lawyers Media, the publisher of Virginia Lawyers Weekly, has announced the 2013 class of “Leaders in the Law.”

Now in its eighth year, this awards program recognizes the lawyers across the commonwealth who are setting the standard for other lawyers in Virginia. “Leaders” are recognized for changing the law, serving the community, changing practice or improving Virginia’s justice system, among other accomplishments.

The Class of 2013 honorees are:

  • Heidi W. Abbott, Hunton & Williams, Richmond
  • Joel R. Branscom, Botetourt County Commonwealth’s Attorney, Fincastle
  • Matthew W. Broughton, Gentry Locke Rakes & Moore, Roanoke
  • Marni E. Byrum, McQuade Byrum PLLC, Alexandria
  • Sandra Chinn-Gilstrap, Woods Rogers PLC, Danville
  • Thomas J. Curcio, Curcio Law, Alexandria
  • S. Miles Dumville, Reed Smith LLP, Richmond
  • Karen L. Fortier, Karen L. Fortier PC, Virginia Beach
  • Jeffrey H. Geiger, Sands Anderson PC, Richmond
  • Nina J. Ginsberg, DiMuroGinsberg PC, Alexandria
  • Jill A. Hanken, Virginia Poverty Law Center, Richmond
  • Patrick W. Herman, Vandeventer Black, Norfolk
  • James Hingeley, Albemarle-Charlottesville Public Defender, Charlottesville
  • Stephen A. Isaacs, Law Office of Stephen A. Isaacs, Richmond
  • Gary W. Kendall, MichieHamlett, Charlottesville
  • Thomas C. Kleine, Troutman Sanders LLP, Virginia Beach
  • Tara M. Lee, DLA Piper, Reston
  • George K. Martin, McGuireWoods LLP, Richmond
  • Bruce H. Matson, LeClairRyan, Richmond
  • John B. McCammon, The McCammon Group, Richmond
  • John D. McGavin, Bancroft, McGavin, Horvath & Judkins PC, Fairfax
  • Neil A.G. McPhie, Tully Rinckey PLLC, Arlington
  • James V. Meath, Williams Mullen, Richmond
  • Jay B. Myerson, The Myerson Law Group, Reston
  • U.S. Magistrate Judge David J. Novak, Eastern District of Virginia, Richmond
  • Paula L. Peaden, Parker, Pollard, Wilton & Peaden, Richmond
  • Mark E. Rubin, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond
  • James R. Schroll, Bean, Kinney & Korman PC, Arlington
  • Thomas R. Scott Jr., The Street Law Firm, Grundy
  • John R. Walk, Hirschler Fleischer PC, Richmond

The honorees will be celebrated at a reception on Oct. 17 at the Science Museum of Virginia in Richmond. The “Leader of the Year,” voted on by the Class of 2013 honorees themselves, will be announced at this reception.

Each honoree also will be profiled in a special publication that will be distributed at the event and inserted into Virginia Lawyers Weekly in late October.

Verdicts & Settlements

See All Verdicts & Settlements

Opinion Digests

See All Digests