Home / News in Brief / Court names Access to Justice Commission

Court names Access to Justice Commission

VA Supreme courtThe Supreme Court of Virginia has announced the makeup of the inaugural Access to Justice Commission, a new panel aimed at opening courthouse doors for those impaired by poverty, disability or language barriers.

The 18-member commission will be chaired by Supreme Court Justice S. Bernard Goodwyn. The co-chair is Blue Ridge Legal Services executive director John Whitfield.

The commission start-up was paid for by a grant funded in part by the Public Welfare Foundation in Washington.

Commission meetings are to be open to the public, according to a court spokesperson. No meetings have yet been announced.

Other members are:

  • Mark D. Braley, executive director, Legal Services Corporation of Virginia
  • Andrea L. Bridgeman, associate general counsel, Freddie Mac
  • Deborah V. Bryan, Chief Judge, Virginia Beach Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court
  • Joel C. Cunningham, Judge, Halifax Circuit Court
  • Kimberly C. Emery, Assistant Dean for Pro Bono and Public Interest, University of Virginia School of Law
  • John P. Fishwick, Jr., LichtensteinFishwick PLC
  • Larry T. Harley, Executive Director, Southwest Virginia Legal Aid Society, Inc.
  • Tonya Henderson-Stith, Chief Judge, Hampton General District Court
  • George H. Hettrick, Special Counsel, Hunton & Williams
  • Stephen R. McCullough, Judge, Court of Appeals of Virginia
  • Paul D. McWhinney, Deputy Commissioner for Programs/Director of Family Services, Virginia Department of Social Services
  • Scott C. Oostdyk, McGuireWoods
  • Daniel E. Ortiz, Blankingship and Keith, P.C.
  • Stephen Otero, Vice President and Sr. Associate General Counsel, Capital One
  • Carolyn W. Robbins, Clerk, Salem Combined District Court
  • Gail Warren, State Law Librarian, Supreme Court of Virginia

Clarification: This post was revised on Dec. 6 to reflect that grant money paid only for the start-up of the commission.

Leave a Reply