Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / News in Brief / Lawyers win McAuliffe appointments

Lawyers win McAuliffe appointments

Gov. Terry McAuliffe named a number of noteworthy attorneys to state government posts last week.

The appointments include:

  • Jay DeBoer, named as director of the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, a post he also held in the Tim Kaine administration. DeBoer served as a state delegate from 1983 to 2002 and has worked as a legal consultant and officer for the Virginia Association of Realtors.
  • Katya Herndon, appointed as deputy director of the Virginia Department of Forensic Science. Herndon has served as director of legislative and public relations for the Office of the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia since 2006. She previously clerked at the Supreme Court, worked as an assistant commonwealth’s attorney in Henrico County and served as legal counsel for the then-named Virginia Division of Forensic Science.
  • Val McWhorter, appointed to the Virginia Port Authority board of commissioners. McWhorter is a founding partner of the Tysons Corner law firm of Smith, Patcher, McWhorter.
  • Alan Diamonstein, appointed to the Virginia Port Authority board of commissioners. Diamondstein was a member of the House of Delegates for more than 30 years. As a partner in the Patten, Wornom, Hatten, Diamonstein law firm in Newport News, he specializes in public policy issues and project finance, economic development law and real estate ventures.
  • John Millken, appointed to the Virginia Port Authority board of commissioners. A partner with Venable LLP in Tysons Corner, Milliken’s practice focuses on transportation, land use and environmental issues associated with major projects. Milliken is a former state Secretary of Transportation and previously served on the ports board from 2002 to 2011.

Leave a Reply