Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / News in Brief / Gould receives Murray Janus Professionalism Award

Gould receives Murray Janus Professionalism Award

Virginia State Bar Executive Director Karen A. Gould has received the 2016 Murray Janus Professionalism Award from the Richmond-based John Marshall Inn of Court.

The John Marshall Inn created the Murray Janus Award in 2014 to honor members who exemplify the values at the core of the Inn’s mission, including professionalism, mentoring and perseverance.

Lisa Sharp, president of the John Marshall Inn, wrote that Gould was selected for the award “because throughout her career at the practicing bar, and in her efforts as executive director of the Virginia State Bar, she has displayed a dedication to professionalism and the improvement of the practice of law.  She has also served as a mentor to young attorneys at the bar, giving generously of her time to pass on the importance of civility and excellent work to individual lawyers who had the privilege of working with her.”

Virginia Court of Appeals Judge Wesley G. Russell Jr. noted that Gould had a long career as a professional liability defense lawyer before becoming executive director of the VSB.

She served on Bar Council, the VSB’s governing body and was elected president for 2006-07. She became executive director the Bar in 2008. She is also a past president of the John Marshall Inn.

“I have had the opportunity to view her from many vantage points,” Russell said. “I was her associate and mentee when I started practicing law. As my career progressed, she became a peer and colleague. We were partners in a two-person firm and in larger settings as well. Because of my service in the Office of the Attorney General, I also got to see Karen, as head of the Bar, as a client. In all of these interactions, she displayed a dedication to professionalism and the improvement of the practice of law. In short, I can think of no more qualified candidate for the Inn’s professionalism award.”

The award was presented at the John Marshall Inn of Court annual banquet at the Valentine Museum on May 16.

The award is named for the late Murray Janus, a founding member of the Inn who passed away in 2013. The two previous honorees were Thomas W. Williamson Jr. and current Virginia Supreme Court Justice Stephen R. McCullough.

The American Inns of Court, of which the John Marshall Inn is a Richmond chapter, is a non-partisan association of lawyers, judges and other legal professionals from all levels and backgrounds who share a passion for professional excellence.

Leave a Reply