Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / News Stories / ‘Leaders in the Law’ for 2017 named

‘Leaders in the Law’ for 2017 named

leadersVirginia Lawyers Weekly has announced the 2017 class of “Leaders in the Law.”

Now in its 12th year, this awards program recognizes the lawyers across the commonwealth who are setting the standard for other lawyers in Virginia. “Leaders” are recognized for changing the law, serving the community, changing practice or improving Virginia’s justice system, among other accomplishments.

The Class of 2017 honorees are:

  • Hon. Penney S. Azcarate, Fairfax Circuit Court, Fairfax
  • G. Russell “Rusty” Boleman III, Boleman Law Firm PC, Richmond
  • Carlos M. Brown, Dominion Energy Inc., Richmond
  • Brenda Castañeda, Legal Aid Justice Center, Charlottesville
  • Timothy Coyne, Indigent Defense Commission, Winchester
  • Thomas M. Dunlap, Dunlap, Bennett & Ludwig, Leesburg
  • Dennis M. Fitzpatrick, U.S. Department of Justice, Alexandria
  • William “Bill” Fralin, The Estate Planning & Elder Law Firm PC, Arlington
  • Daniel P. Frankl, Frankl Miller Webb & Moyers LLP, Roanoke
  • Howard E. Gordon, Williams Mullen, Norfolk
  • James Patrick Guy II, LeClairRyan, Richmond
  • Del. Gregory D. Habeeb, Gentry Locke, Roanoke
  • Brian M. Hirsch, Hirsch & Ehlenberger PC, Reston
  • La Bravia J. Jenkins, Commonwealth’s Attorney, Fredericksburg
  • Nosuk Pak Kim, Cowardin, Kim & Riddle, Newport News
  • Bradford A. King, Sands Anderson, Richmond
  • James “Jim” T. Lang, Pender & Coward PC, Virginia Beach
  • Kimberly C. MacLeod, Hunton & Williams LLP, Richmond
  • Michele A.W. McKinnon, McGuireWoods LLP, Richmond
  • Martha JP McQuade, McQuade Byrum PLLC, Alexandria
  • Stephen Otero, Capital One, Richmond
  • Elizabeth Guilbert Perrow, Woods Rogers PLC, Roanoke
  • Anita O. Poston, Vandeventer Black LLP, Norfolk
  • Brewster S. Rawls, Rawls Law Group, Richmond
  • Lawrence Roberts, Venable, Tysons Corner
  • Craig W. Sampson, Barnes & Diehl PC, Richmond
  • John C. Shea, Marks & Harrison, Richmond
  • Lewis T. Stoneburner, Cantor, Stoneburner, Ford, Grana & Buckner, Richmond
  • Shannon L. Taylor, Commonwealth’s Attorney, Henrico
  • Michael H. Terry, Hirschler Fleischer, Richmond

The honorees will be celebrated at a reception on Oct. 26 at the John Marshall Hotel in Richmond. The “Leader of the Year,” voted on by members of the Class of 2017 Leaders will be announced at this reception.

Each honoree also will be profiled in a special supplement that will be distributed at the event and inserted into Virginia Lawyers Weekly in late October.