Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / Special Features / Members named for 2020 Virginia Lawyers Hall of Fame

Members named for 2020 Virginia Lawyers Hall of Fame

Virginia Lawyers Media has announced the Class of 2020 for the “Virginia Lawyers Hall of Fame,” sponsored by Virginia Lawyers Weekly.

The Virginia Lawyers Hall of Fame honors Virginia lawyers age 60 and older. Criteria for inclusion in the Hall include career accomplishments, contributions to the development of the law in Virginia, contributions to the bar and to the commonwealth at large and efforts to improve the quality of justice in Virginia.

The Class of 2020 honorees:

Jean Galloway Ball, Fairfax

Carlton F. Bennett, Virginia Beach

Marni E. Byrum, Alexandria

Richard J. Colten, Fairfax

Joseph A. Condo, Tysons Corner

S. Miles Dumville, Richmond

L. Steven Emmert, Virginia Beach

Maryellen Goodlatte, Roanoke

Karen A. Gould, Richmond

P. Christopher Guedri, Richmond

Hon. (ret.) Catherine C. Hammond, Richmond

Michael HuYoung, Richmond

John B. McCammon, Richmond

Charles F. Midkiff, Richmond

Lonnie D. “Chip” Nunley III, Richmond

William R. Rakes, Roanoke

Hon. (ret.) Angela Roberts, Richmond

Thomas R. Scott Jr., Grundy

John C. Shea, Richmond

Lewis Stoneburner, Richmond

In addition to these individuals, four members of the Class of 2020 are being honored posthumously:

Hon. Odessa P. Bailey, Roanoke

Oliver W. Hill Sr., Richmond

Hon. Robert R. Merhige Jr., Richmond

Hon. Spottswood W. Robinson III, Washington, DC

The honorees will be celebrated at a virtual program to be broadcast on Nov. 18. Each honoree also will be profiled in a special supplement that will be inserted into Virginia Lawyers Weekly in November.