Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / News Stories / ‘Virginia Lawyers Hall of Fame’ members for 2020 named

‘Virginia Lawyers Hall of Fame’ members for 2020 named

Virginia Lawyers Media has announced the Class of 2020 for the “Virginia Lawyers Hall of Fame,” sponsored by Virginia Lawyers Weekly.

The Virginia Lawyers Hall of Fame honors Virginia lawyers age 60 and older. Criteria for inclusion in the Hall include career accomplishments, contributions to the development of the law in Virginia, contributions to the bar and to the commonwealth at large and efforts to improve the quality of justice in Virginia.

The Class of 2020 honorees are:

  • Jean Galloway Ball, Fairfax
  • Carlton F. Bennett, Virginia Beach
  • Marni E. Byrum, Alexandria
  • Richard J. Colten, Fairfax
  • Joseph A. Condo, Tysons Corner
  • Miles Dumville, Richmond
  • Steven Emmert, Virginia Beach
  • Maryellen Goodlatte, Roanoke
  • Karen A. Gould, Richmond
  • Christopher Guedri, Richmond
  • (ret.) Catherine C. Hammond, Richmond
  • Michael HuYoung, Richmond
  • John B. McCammon, Richmond
  • Charles F. Midkiff, Richmond
  • Lonnie D. “Chip” Nunley III, Richmond
  • William R. Rakes, Roanoke
  • (ret.) Angela Roberts, Richmond
  • Thomas R. Scott Jr., Grundy
  • John C. Shea, Richmond
  • Lewis Stoneburner, Richmond

In addition to these individuals, four members of the Class of 2020 are being honored posthumously:

  • Odessa P. Bailey, Roanoke
  • Oliver W. Hill Sr., Richmond
  • Robert R. Merhige Jr., Richmond
  • Spottswood W. Robinson III, Washington, DC

The honorees will be celebrated at a virtual program to be broadcast on Nov. 18. Each honoree also will be profiled in a special supplement that will be inserted into Virginia Lawyers Weekly in November.