Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Four elected to Bar Council

Four elected to Bar Council

Virginia Lawyers Weekly//May 3, 2021//

Listen to this article

Lawyers voting in Alexandria and in the Roanoke and Bristol areas have elected four representatives to serve on the Virginia State Bar Council.

VSB members in circuits 18, 23, and 28 cast online ballots in voting that ended April 29 at midnight, according to a VSB announcement.

Todd A. Pilot was elected to his first term and John K. Zwerling was elected to his second term to represent Alexandria’s Circuit 18. Daniel P. Frankl won the election for the 23rd Circuit in the Roanoke Valley. Bruce H. Russell II will be a representative for Circuit 28, which includes Bristol and Abingdon.

The Bar Council consists of 81 people: 65 lawyers elected from Virginia’s 31 judicial circuits as well as nine at-large members appointed by the Supreme Court of Virginia, four conference chairs and three VSB officers.

Each elected representative will serve a three-year term, with the option to run again for a second term.

Conference chair council members:

  • CLSBA Chair – Roy V. Creasy of Roanoke
  • Diversity Conference Chair – David D. Masterman of McLean
  • Senior Lawyers Conference Chair – Peter C. Burnett of Leesburg
  • Young Lawyers Conference President – Kristopher R. McClellan of Norfolk

New council members from uncontested elections:

  • Circuit 4 – Corrynn J. Peters of Norfolk
  • Circuit 8 – Veronica E. Meade of Hampton
  • Circuit 12 – P. George Eliades II of Chester
  • Circuit 13 –
    • Timothy R. Baskerville of Richmond
    • Mark D. Dix of Richmond
    • Susheela Varky of Richmond
    • Henry I. Willett III of Richmond
  • Circuit 14 – Thomas A. Edmonds of Henrico
  • Circuit 16 – Richard H. Howard-Smith of Charlottesville
  • Circuit 17 –
    • Jennifer S. Golden of Arlington
    • Adam M. Krischer of Arlington
  • Circuit 19 –
    • Kathryn N. Dickerson of Vienna
    • Stephen K. Gallagher of Tysons Corner
    • Carly J. Hart of Fairfax
    • Nathan J. Olson of Fairfax
    • Debra L. Powers of Fairfax
    • Michael M. York of Reston
  • Circuit 21 – G. Andrew Hall of Martinsville
  • Circuit 30 – D. Susie Baker of Wise

Reappointed at-large members:

  • Lonnie “Chip” Nunley III of Richmond
  • Joanna L. Suyes of Richmond
  • Nicole E. Upshur of Virginia Beach

Verdicts & Settlements

See All Verdicts & Settlements

Opinion Digests

See All Digests